Who writes Prof Thompson's script? (19/4/2007)

NOTE: Professor Thompson was involved in the drafting of the South African Biotechnology Strategy and was Chair of SAGENE, South Africa's orginal regulatory body for GM crops. She is also a member of South Africa's current Advisory Committee, which provides expert technical advice on regulatory decisions.

Those decisions obviously impact the members of SANSOR.


Jennifer Thompson and our seed industry
From: "African Centre Biosafety"
[email protected]
Date: Wed, 18 Apr 2007 16:16:09 +0100

Dear friends

I am going through the submissions to the SA parliament on the GMO Act Amendment Bill, and have found that the submission made by Professor Jennifer Thompson, (University of Cape Town, Molecular and Cell Biology Department) dated 18 November 2005, from page 3 to the end-page 5, has been taken verbatim, or vice-versa, from the entire submission made by the South African National Seed Organisation, SANSOR, dated 17 November 2005.

The members of SANSOR are listed below. The Chairperson of the Board of Directors of SANSOR is JM Lindeque of Monsanto.

Jenny's GM maize streak virus is on its way to help resource poor African farmers. Best, Mariam

[edited for length - GM Watch]

Advance Seed
Bayer (Pty) Ltd.
BP Greyling
Cape Seed
CSIR Biosciences
McCain Foods S.A. (Pty) Ltd.
McDonald Seeds (Pty) Ltd.
Monsanto Agriculture (Pty) Ltd.
Monsanto South Africa
Pioneer Hi-Bred RSA (Pty) Ltd.
Seedcor (Pty) Ltd.
Seminis Vegetable Seeds SA (Pty) Ltd. [now owned by Monsanto] Syngenta Seeds Co. (Pty.) Ltd.
University of Stellenbosch [GM grape trials] Zesto Grondbone


Back to the Archive